Parker & Erb, LLC

FREE CONSULTATIONS | 330-725-4114

600 E. Smith Road, Medina, OH 44256

First DUI Arrest Defense Attorneys in Medina, Ohio

Summit County First-Time OVI Defense Attorneys

Brunswick Lawyers for Clients Facing Drunk Driving Charges

Despite years of local awareness efforts and nationwide education campaigns, thousands of drivers each year are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). In the state of Ohio, this offense is officially called "operating a vehicle under the influence," or OVI. Regardless of what you decide to call it, drunk or drugged driving is against the law, and a single conviction has the power to affect the rest of your life.

At Parker & Erb, LLC, we understand that Ohio takes alleged drunk driving very seriously, and its laws regarding first-offense OVI are among the toughest in the nation. Our skilled defense attorneys are prepared to help you mount the best possible defense when you are facing DUI charges for the first time.

First-Time OVI Defense in Ohio

If you have been arrested on DUI charges, it is easy to feel overwhelmed and confused, especially if you have never had contact with the criminal justice system before. First-time offenders facing non-violent charges are often granted certain considerations by Ohio courts, many of which offer pre-trial diversion programs and other alternatives to a conviction. Unfortunately, OVI charges are not eligible for diversionary programs, which means that the penalties you are facing could be severe.

Penalties for a First Offense

The consequences of a first-time DUI conviction will depend on the circumstances of your case. One of the most important factors is your level of intoxication at the time of your arrest. Ohio law divides first-time OVI offense into categories based on the results of the driver's blood-alcohol content (BAC) test. As a first-time offender with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.17, you will be sentenced to a minimum of three days in jail or a 72-hour Driver Intervention Program. At the court's discretion, you could be sentenced to up to six months in jail. You will also be subject to a fine of a least $375, which could go as high as $1,075. In addition, your driver's license will be suspended for a minimum of six months up to a maximum of three years.

If your BAC test results were 0.17 or above or you refused a BAC test with a previous refusal in the last 20 years, all of the same penalties apply as for the lower tier offense with a few exceptions. A high-tier offense carries a minimum of six days in jail or three days in jail and three days in a Driver Intervention Program. You will also be required to put special, bright yellow OVI offender license plates on your vehicle.

Medina County Lawyers Protecting Your Rights

At Parker & Erb, LLC, we are equipped to help you and your family deal with first-offense DUI charges. We will evaluate the circumstances of your case and help you understand what to expect along the way. Our attorneys will work hard within the law to minimize the impact on your future and get you back on the road as quickly as possible.

To learn more about our firm and how we can assist you, contact our office. Call 330-725-4114 for a free, no-obligation consultation today. Our OVI defense lawyers serve clients in Medina, Brunswick, Wadsworth, Wooster, Akron, Rittman, Summit County, Wayne County, and Medina County, Ohio.

Bar Association Badges Ohio State Bar Association Medina County Bar Association Bar Association Badges
Back to Top